Le Beaufort

Presentation

The Beaufort, an exceptional cheese!
Beaufort is a raw and whole milk cheese with pressed cooked paste. It comes in the form of a wheel weighing about 40 kg, 11 to 16 cm high and 35 to 75 cm in diameter with a concave heel. Its paste is smooth, ivory to paste yellow in color, it is firm at first on attack in the mouth and then melts.

AOC (Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée) since 1968 (the AOP - Appellation d'Origine Protégée - is today the European transcription of the AOC), Beaufort must be made in the high mountainous part of Savoie: the Beaufortain, Maurienne, Tarentaise and part of the Val d'Arly.
The milk comes exclusively from cows of the breeds Tarine and Abondance :
 
Tarentaise :
The Tarentaise, originating from the valley of the same name, more commonly known as Tarine, is a rustic cow, with character that has seduced many breeders. She can be recognized by her uniform fawn color, her black hooves and her black-painted eyes.

Abondance :
The Abondance, native of Haute-Savoie, can be recognized by its mahogany red piebald coat, its head and generally its belly are white. It wears "glasses": its famous mahogany halos around the eyes. She is of a more imposing size.
Its specifications, very strict, guarantee to the consumer the respect of traditions and the link to the soil which are expressed in its high gustative quality!
 

Where can you find Beaufort?

Located in the heart of the Maurienne region, La Chambre's dairy cooperative manufactures and refines Beaufort cheese.
You will discover the work of men who have modernized while preserving ancestral values.

Le Beaufort

Présentation

Le beaufort, un fromage d’exception !

  • beaufort1-368
Le Beaufort est un fromage au lait cru et entier à pâte pressée cuite. Il se présente sous la forme d'une meule pesant environ 40 kg, de 11 à 16 cm de hauteur et de 35 à 75 cm de diamètre avec un talon concave. Sa pâte est lisse de couleur ivoire à jaune pâte, elle est d'abord ferme à l'attaque en bouche puis fondante.
 
AOC (Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée) depuis 1968 (l'AOP - Appellation d'Origine Protégée - est aujourd'hui la transcription européenne de l'AOC), le Beaufort se doit d'être fabriqué dans la partie haute montagne de la Savoie : le Beaufortain, la Maurienne, la Tarentaise et une partie du Val d'Arly.

 
  • dscn4695-copie-369
  • img-1775-370
Le lait provient exclusivement de vaches de races Tarine et Abondance :
 
Tarentaise :
La Tarentaise, originaire de la vallée du même nom, plus communément appelée Tarine, est une vache rustique, de caractère qui a su séduire bon nombre d'éleveurs. Elle se reconnaît à sa couleur fauve uniforme, ses sabots noirs et ses yeux maquillés de noir.
 
Abondance :
L’Abondance, originaire de Haute-Savoie, se reconnaît à sa robe pie rouge acajou, sa tête et généralement son ventre sont blancs. Elle porte des « lunettes » : ses fameuses auréoles acajou autour des yeux. Elle est d'un gabarit plus imposant.
Son cahier des charges, très strict, garantit au consommateur le respect des traditions et le lien au terroir qui s'expriment dans sa haute qualité gustative !

Où trouver du Beaufort ?

Située au cœur de la Maurienne, la coopérative laitière de La Chambre fabrique et affine le beaufort.
Vous y découvrirez le travail des hommes qui s'est modernisé tout en préservant les valeurs ancestrales
  • beaufort-2-367